Why did they call it the rose bowl?

The Rose Bowl was constructed in 1922 by the non-profit Pasadena Tournament of Roses Association. The stadium replaced temporary stands used to host the football game that helped fund the Rose Parade. The name Rose Bowl stadium was settled on before the 1923 Rose Bowl Game.