What's the mashed potato dance?

The Mashed-Potato was a popular dance, similar to "THE TWIST," that appeared in 1962 after being incorporated into the concert moves by singer James Brown in 1959, and into song lyrics over the next couple of years.

---

The Mashed Potato is a dance move which was a popular dance craze of 1962. The dance move and mashed potato song was first made famous by James Brown in 1959 and used in his concerts regularly. It was also danced to songs such as Dee Dee Sharp's "Mashed Potato Time".