What's a pickle in baseball?

A rundown or pickle occurs when a baserunner gets caught between two bases. When base running, a player tries to get to the next base if they think they can get there safely. However, if they realize they won’t make it safely, they might back pedal and get caught between two fielders and the bases.

---

Pickle is referred to when the runner is caught between bases trying to avoid being tagged by the other team.