How far can a fifty caliber bullet go?

50BMG round can be fired for effect to distances around 1.5-2 miles. With “effect” being you can still hit a man-sized target in area fire or aimed fire from something like a sniper rifle. In terms of maximum flight distance, 4–5 miles minimum depending on firing angle and terrain