What is a nifty fifty used for?

A nifty fifty is an excellent walk-around lens, ideal for capturing candid moments, making it a favourite for street photography (guide). When it comes to shooting people, it's less intimidating and intrusive than a large, pretentious zoom, and can make your subject more relaxed.