What was the watergate scandal?

The Watergate scandal stemmed from the June 17, 1972 break-in of the Democratic National Committee headquarters at the Watergate Office Building in Washington, DC by 5 men, and then President Richard Nixon's Administration's subsequent attempts to cover up its involvement in the crime.