Why did rachel maddow leave msnbc?

Rachel Maddow announced on her show that she was taking a hiatus. She cited a desire to work on projects such as a film adaptation of her podcast Bag Man. Rachel has also been working on her identically named podcast The Rachel Maddow Show, which has a similar narrative format to her Bag Man podcast