Is the word the an article or a conjunction?

the most used word in the English language is, The, spelled T, H, E. It’s very important in English grammar. It is a functional word to indicate meaning, & subtle differences in words following it, such as designating a singular item or a place. It is classified as an article, which defines a noun.