Is zero point zero five inches a lot of rain?

0.05 isn't much rain. 1.0 would be 1 inch of rain, so 0.50 is 1/2 in. The more 0 after the decimal point the smaller the amount is. Think of it this way a dollar is 1.00, fifty cents is 0.50, and a penny is 0.01. So 0.05 is a nickel's worth of rain.