What is the spleen do?

The spleen acts as a filter for blood as part of the immune system. Old red blood cells are recycled in the spleen, and platelets and white blood cells are stored there. The spleen also helps fight certain kinds of bacteria that cause pneumonia and meningitis.

---

The spleen is part of the immune system and acts as a filter for the blood.