Who wrote the twenty third song?

King David, who wrote the psalm, grew up and worked as a shepherd, so he knew a lot about sheep and shepherding. He loved the metaphor of seeing God, or the Lord, as a shepherd. The shepherd's job is to care for his flock, making sure they are safe, nourished, calm and happy at all times.