What's a c. b. c. word?

CVC words are three letter words that follow a consonant/vowel/consonant pattern. They are considered the simplest words for beginning readers as it blends the three sounds together. When a vowel is followed by a consonant, it is a closed syllable and makes the vowel say its sound. i.e. cat, dog