Why do cockroaches exist?

They exist as a food source for wasps, smallish birds, and mammals. If they were to disappear from an area, the impact on the ecosystem would be evident in the decline of larger animals to due less food. They also assist in nutrient recycling in forests and are part of the Earth's nitrogen cycle.