Can you tell me about the american civil war?

The American Civil War was one of the bloodiest and highest-casualty conflicts of the modern era. It was fought over the right to keep slaves, but - technically - it was about state's rights, whether the U.S. Federal Government had the right to enact laws that overruled those of individual states.