What are temporary tattoos made out of?

Most temporary tattoos are novelty items made with a special type of silcone decal. A process known as screen printing is used to create the tattoo image on paper coated with a transfer film. Transfer film allows the image to slide off the backing paper and onto the skin when moisture is applied.