Where did the term joshing come from?

The origin of the slang "joshing" can be found in the late 1800s, when Josh Tatum noticed that 1883 nickels were almost the same as five-dollar gold pieces in terms of size and design. He and a friend began to electroplate these coins and pass them off as fake five-dollar pieces.