What happens if you step in quicksand?

If you step in quicksand, your foot will sink & get wet & muddy. You can float in quicksand just like in water, so you won't drown unless you panic.

---

Quicksand is different from common sand in the particles are rounded rather than jagged. When mixed with water the sand become almost a lubricant rather than a sodden mass. If a person is caught in a quicksand bog, they should lie flat. The sand will support them, and they can crawl out.