What is methane gas used for?

Methane is an odorless, colorless, flammable gas. It is used primarily as fuel to make heat and light. It is also used to manufacture organic chemicals. Compared to other hydrocarbon fuels, methane produces less carbon dioxide for each unit of heat released.