Why are sixlets called sixlets?

Sixlets have existed since 1960. Were originally made by Leaf Brands. A candy brand w/a similar name that was also made by Leaf in the 60's was called Fivesomes. One hypothesis for the name's origin is the candy, when originally manufactured, was sold six for a penny in a bubble gum-like machine.