How to grow ginger root?

If you are buying ginger from a store, soak the rhizomes in water overnight because they are sometimes treated with a growth retardant. Plant the rhizomes 6 to 8 inches apart, 2 to 4 inches deep, and with the growth buds pointing upward. They can be planted whole or in smaller pieces.