What is a brownie fairy?

Brownie, in English and Scottish folklore, is a small, industrious fairy or hobgoblin believed to inhabit houses and barns. Rarely seen, he is often heard at night, cleaning and doing housework; he also sometimes mischievously disarranges rooms.