How many years do you have to go to school to be a lawyer?

Becoming a lawyer usually takes 7 years of full-time study after high school (4 years of undergraduate study, then 3 years of law school). Most states require lawyers to complete a Juris Doctor degree from a law school accredited by the American Bar Association.

---

It takes 6 to 8 years.