What is calabash style seafood?

Calabash-style seafood is lightly breaded and fried and typically served buffet style. The seafood is always accompanied with the ever popular side dish-hushpuppies. Corn meal is used to give the seafood a light coating. The seafood is then fried in hot oil until it becomes golden brown.