How are oats made?

Oats are grains from the cereal plant and once harvested are processed for use in animal feed, skin products or food. For food use, oats are milled, steamed, heated and cooled in a kiln, which brings out the flavour. The oats are then rolled, cut or ground to produce flakes, oatmeal or flour.