How do you grow lemon grass?

Soil, Planting, and Care. Lemongrass thrives in full sun, even in hot Southern locations. Give this herb rich, well-drained soil. ... In cold regions, overwinter lemongrass indoors by digging up a few stalks, trimming them down to just a few inches tall, and planting them in smaller pots.