How to hand pollinate cucumber plants?

To hand-pollinate a cucumber, dip a paintbrush into the center of a male flower. Some gardeners use a cotton swab instead of a paintbrush. The pollen sticks to the bristles on the paintbrush just as it would stick to the hairs on a bee's body.