How far can a new born baby see?

By around 2 weeks Infants can see 8-12 inches

---

At birth an infant can detect light and motion, then can make out faces and large shapes. By the end of the first month, a baby can make eye contact and focus on objects about 30 cm (1 ft) away. By the time a baby is 3-4 months old, it can distinguish between colors and focus on smaller objects.

---

Newborns can see only about 8 to 15 inches away — just far enough to clearly make out the face of the person holding them.