What's the definition of avonlea?

river by a field Avonlea Origin and Meaning The name Avonlea is girl's name meaning "river by a field". As all good Anne of Green Gables buffs would know, Avonlea is the fictional Canadian town created by L. M. Montgomery that Anne Shirley considers home.