Why is there a k. in knife?

The silent 'k' in words like 'knight', 'knock' and 'knob' is a remnant of Old English, and wasn't silent at all but was pronounced along with the 'n'. Nobody really knows why or when it became silent, but this change is believed to have transpired sometime around the 16th to 17th centuries.