Who was the first african american nfl player?

Running back Kenny Washington was the first African American player to sign a contract with the NFL. He began his professional career in 1940, playing for the Hollywood Bears of the Pacific Coast Professional Football League, and then signed with the NFL's Los Angeles Rams in 1946.