How long does it take the average person to run five miles?

A noncompetitive, relatively in-shape runner runs one mile in about 9 to 10 minutes, on average. If you’re new to running, you might run one mile in closer to 12 to 15 minutes as you build up endurance. So somewhere between 45 to 75 minutes would be common for runners.