What is five h. tp for?

5-hydroxytryptophan (5-HTP) is a chemical that the body makes from tryptophan. After tryptophan is converted into 5-HTP, the chemical is changed into another chemical called serotonin. It is often used for depression, and sometimes insomnia and anxiety