Do chipmunks hibernate in the winter time?

Chipmunks do not truly hibernate. Instead, in the winter, they enter a state in which their metabolism slows down and they sleep much of the time, deep in their burrows. However, they wake every few days to eat from their stored food and defecate. They may emerge to forage for food on warm days.