What is the war of the rings?

The War of the Ring was a conflict brought by the Dark Lord Sauron upon the Free Peoples of Middle-earth for control of the One Ring and the continent. It occurred at the end of the 3rd Age. Together with the Quest of the Ring, it comprised one of the main plot-lines of The Lord of the Rings saga.