What's the difference between an english cocker spaniel and an american cocker spaniel?

One difference is size. The English Cocker Spaniel is larger than the American Cocker Spaniel. They also have different body types. ... The English Cocker has a medium-length coat, although the English Cockers you see in the field have a shorter coat than those in the show ring.