Do chameleons bite?

Chameleons are solitary animals. Forced handling or unwanted handling can cause hissing and biting. A chameleons bite is painful, however, not toxic or harmful to humans. Chameleons have different personalities -- some welcome being handled, while others prefer not to be touched.