What is a private club?

Non-government funded groups that get to choose who they want to belong to their club. It is the club we cant understand why you want into, since they don't want you. Historically these were men's clubs who did not allow women, Irish, Jews, Africans, Catholics etc. think Masons, Skull&Bones, Elks.