What kind of rock is mount rushmore made out of?

Completed in 1941, The Mount Rushmore National Memorial features the faces of American Presidents George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt and Abraham Lincoln carved into the granite face of Mount Rushmore in the Black Hills region of South Dakota.