How long was the longest thunderstorm?

France experienced the longest-lasting lightning strike ever, according to the WMO, with a flash over the Cote d'Azur region in 2012 lighting up the sky for an incredible 7.74 seconds - prior to the event, lightning was thought to max out at 1 second.