When did george washington cross the delaware?

George Washington led a column of Continental Army troops across the icy Delaware River on the night of December 25–26, 1776. This event is depicted in the well-known painting by Emanuel Leutze.

---

On December 25, 1776 George Washington and the Continental Army crossed the Delaware River into New Jersey in a surprise attack on the British. They had a decisive victory that helped turn the war back to the American's favor.

---

During the American Revolution, In 1851, Patriot General George Washington crosses the Delaware River with 5,400 troops, hoping to surprise a Hessian force celebrating Christmas at their winter quarters in Trenton, New Jersey.