What does taro mean?

In English, taro means a large-leaved tropical Asian plant of the arum family grown throughout the tropics for its edible starchy corms and cormels and in temperate regions for ornament.

---

Taro is a tropical plant grown primarily to eat. It is a root vegetable also known by other names. It can be prepared like a potato. It has a sweet flavor that can often be found in boba drinks. Some say it tastes like sweet potatoes or buttered popcorn jelly beans.