What was the biggest battleship during world war two?

The Imperial Japanese Navy's Yamato (comissioned on 8 August 1940) and her sister ship Musashi (comissioned on 1 November 1940) were the heaviest and most powerfully armed battleships ever constructed, displacing 72,800 tonnes at full load and armed with nine 46 cm (18.1 in) Type 94 main guns.