What is meat tenderizer?

Papaya contains a natural meat tenderizer called papain, while pineapple contains enzymes called bromelain. Acidic tenderizers. Vinegar, lemon juice, and even yogurt have a softening and tenderizing effect on meats.

---

Meat tenderizer can refer to seasoning such as salt or to a mallet or other blunt instrument used to beat meat.