How do plasma balls work?

Plasma is a highly charged gas ion that has many industrial uses. Plasma gas can be extremely hot, and the electrical charge can have a lightening effect. It would be a very lethal weapon except that it is difficult to control and keep in one place. "Ball Lightening" may be natural ball plasma.