What causes quicksand?

Quicksand forms when uprising water reduces the friction between sand particles, causing the sand to become "quick."

---

Water, clay and sand. Rain fills a hole lined by clay and sand. The viscosity varies but it is easy to escape. One has to shake their foot, one at a time, until it becomes free from the pull. Cannot die in Quicksand, you are more buoyant than water.