How do you cook guava?

Here is a good guava recipe: scoop out & discard the seeds of 1 lb of guava halves. Place the guava halves in a 1-qt saucepan & cover with 2 cups water. Add 1/2 cup sugar & 1 stick of cinnamon & the juice of 1 lime. Add the lime rinds to the saucepan & bring to a boil. Lower to a simmer & cook 5 min