What's a billy bumbler?

They are fictional creatures in the Dark World novels by Stephen King. Billy-Bumblers, are creatures with black and grey striped fur, spiral tails, and gold-ringed eyes. They look like a cross between raccoons, woodchucks, and dachshunds.