What's the difference between pasteurized and ultra pasteurized milk?

Regular pasteurization heats the milk to 161 degrees Fahrenheit for 15 seconds and then rapidly cools it to 39 degrees. For Ultrapasteurization, raw milk is heated to approximately 280 degrees Fahrenheit for just 2 seconds and is then rapidly chilled back to 39 degrees.

---

Ultra-pasteurized milk lasts three times longer than regularly processed milk because the higher temperature not only kills the usual suspects like E. Coli and salmonella, but UHT also kills all other non-pathogenic bacteria that can cause spoilage.