Tell me about the u. s. s. s. x.?

The USS Essex (LHD-2) is a Wasp-class amphibious assault ship used as a Landing Helicopter Dock. The previous ship to carry the name was the second world war era Essex-class aircraft carrier CV-9, decommisioned in 1969.