Does salt attract ants?

Ants far from the coast are more attracted to a dilute salt solution than to a more concentrated sugar solution, probably because plant-eating ants in salt-poor inland areas are salt-starved. Ants, though, typically swarm over sources of sugar because they need it for energy.